TV makes us stoopider

I love television. I’m a TVaholic. But the Idiot Box is living up to its name and reaching a new low.  The newest crop of television fare is stunningly stupid.  Check the good article in the Washington Times here.  How about:

More to Love, billed as the first “dating show for the rest of us,” throwing open its doors to overweight contestants.  Yes, let’s encourage fat girls that it’s OK to be unfit. 

I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here, celebrities live in jungle conditions with few comforts and have to earn human essentials. Like I care how a “celebrity” will do in the jungle without mascara. Illinois’ own Patti Blagoevich (Trailer Park Patti) did pretty well.

Wipeout,  where twenty-four thrill-seekers will compete in the world’s largest extreme obstacle course designed to provide the most spills, face plants and wipeouts ever seen on television.  Sounds like the Three Stooges, which I actually liked.

I Survived a Japanese Game Show.  I’m still not sure what this is, but with contests called Big Chicken Butt Scramble and Clothes On Clothes Off, I think we get the idea.

Dating in the Dark , the new reality dating series will follow single men and women as they go through all the usual motions of dating without ever actually seeing each other. Uh, ok.  Didn’t we do a version of that in high school?

Dance Your Ass Off, well, OK.  At least the network is using it’s powers for good here. 

Not to mention Flavor Flav and the Girls Next Door. I guess I really am old and out of touch.  Or maybe I have a brain. Networks need to compete with quality programming…the money will follow. When will we stop dumbing down? 

images   There’s nothing on!!!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “TV makes us stoopider”

  1. Teenie Says:

    For the first time in 10 years, I’ve actually dumped the bunny ears and splurged for cable. My conclusion? I now have 35 extra channels of nothing to watch. Argh!!! There’s only TLC to save the day, and it’s so full of repeats and fake-dramas like Cake Boss that I’m not much better off.

    Although I must admit–I LOVE Wipeout. I didn’t at first, but it grew on my. And public television has some fine documentaries, when they’re not being interrupted by robot-like drones with combovers asking for money.

  2. tcookmatranga Says:

    I agree – 100 channels in HD and NOTHING on. I wish the networks would get over their love of cheap, worthless reality shows and get back to creating some interesting and fun sitcoms. Why else would Seinfeld still be getting such great ratings after nearly 10 years in syndication reruns? There is truly nothing else on. Guess I’ll have to wait for another season of 24 to begin…

  3. adchick Says:

    tcook: Ah, yes….24. Love the escapism. I have enjoyed Lie to Me on Fox..I find myself watching people now to see if they’re raising their shoulder when they talk to me…that means they’re lying!!
    Teenie: Wipeout? Really? I’ll give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

