365 Black

Leave it to McDonalds. If I were black, I’d be offended. How are the first and third sentences related? I couldn’t find anywhere in this site where I could “win exciting once-in-a-lifetime” opportunities.  And by the way, the only thing McDonalds has touched in my life is my cholesterol reading. That’s why I don’t eat that crap anymore.

“At McDonald’s®, we believe that African-American culture and achievement should be celebrated 365 days a year — not just during Black History Month. That’s the idea behind 365Black.com. It’s a place where you can learn more about education, employment, career advancement and entrepreneurship opportunities, and meet real people whose lives have been touched by McDonald’s. Plus, you can also have a chance to win exciting once-in-a-lifetime opportunities. So make sure you visit often — you just might get inspired.”

images-1 www.365black.com

I’m NOT Lovin’ It.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “365 Black”

  1. Glenn Laudenslager Says:

    I think I’m with you on this — what an odd freaking idea. And the URL is def ridiculous.

  2. Teenie Says:

    I always wonder if black people get offended when companies try to approach them like this. It feels patronizing and offensive. You might as well say “We believe in celebrating one-eyed, peg-legged, gramatically challenged ex-pirates 365 days a year!”.

    People are people.

  3. adchick Says:

    Teenie! HA! That’s perfect! Call me a flaming liberal, but why cant we celebrate all the ways we’re alike….people ARE people!

  4. Jake P Says:

    At a quick glance, it’s damn-near Onion-worthy. I’m just unsure what the heck such an initiative is supposed to achieve, other than set a new high mark (low mark?) for patronizing, political correctness and racial divisiveness.

    Moreover, am I the only one that now has a dreadful Depeche Mode song rattling around in my head?

  5. andywebb Says:

    Good post and comments. Why does anyone have to get all cheery and PC about anyone’s racial or ethnic background? Just get on with being humans.

    Reminds me how the famous Red House commercial (posted here, on my blog and on blogs around the Net) goofed on this whole notion.

  6. doodie Says:

    Doodie on Thu, 27th Aug 2009 8:27 pm

    Good post. But, 365Black is ridiculous. I think this is one of those things that we’re all going to look back on and say “I can’t believe they thought like that!”

    “Like the African Baobab Tree, which nourishes the community with it’s leaves and fruit, McDonald’s has branched out to the African-American community nourishing it with valuable programs and opportunities.”

    Can someone please tell me what a Baobab tree has to do with culture and life in the United States?

    And how many people of African decent have ever eaten Baobab fruit or even know what the hell a Baobab Tree is? I feel bad for the actual Africans being nourished be this tree if it’s fruit is compared to McDonald’s food. Does the Baobab Tree clog arteries and rob the body of essential vitamins and nutrients too?

    Not to mention, the girl in the in the video is easily less than 50% recent African decent anyway. The whole concept is retarded.

    Doodiepants.com wrote something up about it as well.
    http://doodiepants.com/2009/08/25/mcdonalds-website-just-for-people-with-darker-skin-365black-com/

Leave a Reply

